V/A - V.A - God Give Me Light 1927-1931: Sanctified Vol. 2

A truly outstanding 78rpm gospel collection from Herwin Records, featuring knockout performances from a handful of both black and white sanctified singers of the day. As the liner notes say: “Unfortunately, very little is known about the artists in this album.” I do know that I recommend it, highly. 320 vinyl rip by yours truly. Enjoy.

Release Information
Year: 1972.
Country: USA.
Label: Herwin.
A1 Holy Ghost Sanctified Singers – Thou Carest Lord For Me
A2 Holy Ghost Sanctified Singers – When I Get Inside The Gate
A3 Elder Richard Bryant's Sanctified Singers – Lord, Lord He Sure Is Good To Me
A4 Elder Richard Bryant's Sanctified Singers – Come Over Here
A5 Ernest Phipps And His Holiness Quartet – If The Light Has Gone Out In Your Soul
A6 Ernest Phipps And His Holiness Quartet – Bright Tomorrow
A7 Louisville Sanctified Singers – God Give Me Light
A8 Louisville Sanctified Singers – So Glad I'm Here

B1 Holy Ghost Sanctified Singers – Sinner, I'd Make A Change
B2 Holy Ghost Sanctified Singers – Jesus Throwed Up A Highway For Me
B3 Elder Richard Bryant's Sanctified Singers – How Much I Owe For Love Divine
B4 Elder Richard Bryant's Sanctified Singers – Watch Ye, Therefore, You Know Not The Day
B5 Elder Curry – Memphis Flu
B6 Leader Cleveland – Babylon Is Falling Down
B7 Leader Cleveland – Way Beyond The Blue
B8 Ernest Phipps And His Holiness Quartet* – Jesus Is Getting Us Ready For That Great Day
Comments (17)

17 Responses

  1. gilhodges says:

    So glad to have this beauty. Deeply appreciated.

  2. Holly says:

    Nick, perhaps the most admirable of your many admirable qualities is that you take the time to painstakingly rip, upload & post music that *you* love with no apparent regard to whether or not it’s hyped, cool, known, unknown, canonical or collectable.

    This lp is wonderful. As always, my sincere thanks!


  3. øשlqæda says:

    one of the most glorious gospel joints in the history of the universe

  4. nicholab says:

    you friends are warming my heart. just doing my best to share some love for a “brighter tomorrow”. peace & thanks.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Thanks so much for this!

  6. KiDG says:

    Heh the logo for Herwin looks like “Heroin”…

  7. Cassy says:

    Such a beautiful old song.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Cassy from Teach Yourself To Play Guitar

  8. tim abdellah says:

    Many thanks for this post! I also thought the label read “Heroin”!

  9. Duncanmusic says:

    an absolutely choice find. I am thankful for the link to your site. Will subscribe so as not to miss anything you do. Thanks so much.

  10. Stunning, simply stunning, and leaves me wishing there was a way to hear the whole thing!

  11. nicholab says:

    @indy–its all there friend, just clink on the hotlink just below the sample, download, unzip & and voila!
    we aim to please, here. its always a pleasure.

  12. David says:

    Thanks for this. I love any pre-war gospel. Great stuff!

  13. Anonymous says:

    “So Glad I’m Here”! Wonderful record and many thanks.

  14. Anonymous says:

    this would need a repost…
    so as many other albums
    i lost all music on a 250gb hardrive
    both you and holywarbles.


    thanks for all the great music shared.

  15. inspires121 says:

    Much praise to you on your re-ups and many thanks from me for catch ups. FYI, link for this is same as for Bessie Jones, bess.zip .

  16. nicholab says:

    FIXED!!! thanks for the heads up 🙂

  17. Anonymous says:

    goshdarned awesome.
    thank you X 1000.

Leave a Reply

− 3 = four